Buttler explains why ENG opted not to appeal against Matthew Wade
By: Sports DeskUpdated: October 10, 2022 7:22:17 am
Australia batter Matthew Wade was spared from being declared out due to obstruction of the field at the new Optus Stadium in Perth against England on Sunday.
The incident happened in the third ball of the 17th over of Australia’s chase of 209 when England pacer Mark Wood bowled a shortish delivery and Wade subsequently top-edged it.
However, as the ball went straight up – both the bowler and the keeper came rushing forward to grab it. But Wood was blocked by Wade.
The question was did he do so purposely? Replays showed his left arm coming across in front of Wood’s face, thus rendering him helpless.
The ball could have also rolled back onto the stumps as well.
The umpires got together and had a chat but decided to let it pass and did not comply with the obstructing field rule.
Wade 🤣🤣🤣 pic.twitter.com/k9Drvzfy53
— Sachin (@Sachin72342594) October 9, 2022
After the match, England captain Jos Buttler spoke on Wade’s obstruction incident and said: “I wasn’t sure what happened. They asked if I wanted to appeal, and I thought, ‘We’re here for a long time in Australia.’
Jos Buttler on the Matthew Wade/Mark Wood incident #AUSvENGpic.twitter.com/VJ1TKPwlyw
— Chloe-Amanda Bailey (@ChloeAmandaB) October 9, 2022
“I would be a risky one to go for so early in the trip.”
In 2015, when Ben Stokes was given out for obstructing the field, Matthew Wade was one of the first appealers. And the captain Steve Smith would later say, “Wadey had a good view of it behind the stumps. He said straight away that he thought the ball was missing stokessy and it was going to hit the stumps. So he appealed and we went upstairs and the umpire gave it out.”
Australian captain Steve Smith after that match: “Wadey had a good view of it behind the stumps. He said straight away that he thought the ball was missing Stokesy and it was going to hit the stumps.
“So he appealed and we went upstairs and the umpire gave it out.”
— Nic Savage (@nic_savage1) October 9, 2022
Australia’s Test opener Usman Khawaja also wrote on Twitter, “Can’t believe they (England) didn’t appeal.”
Can’t believe they didn’t appeal 🤣☝🏾 https://t.co/wZcUuX6Z0M
— Usman Khawaja (@Uz_Khawaja) October 9, 2022
The incident once again brought up the use of cricket’s laws into question as when they should be used.
Advertisement
Mentioned under section 31.1 in the MCC book of laws, “Neither umpire shall give a batterout, even though he/she may be out under the Laws, unless appealed to by a fielder. This shall not debar a batter who is out under any of the Laws from leaving the wicket without an appeal having been made.”
Section 31.2 further explains that “A batter is dismissed if he/she is either given out by an umpire, on appeal or out under any of the Laws and leaves the wicket as in 31.1.”
Subscriber Only StoriesView All
Premium‘If there is another 70-100 basis points hike, we may see demand getting ...
PremiumBig infra ministries push the pedal in capital spending in first five months
PremiumDirty politics is not our DNA. That’s why we have the people’s goodwill ...
PremiumIn defence of freebies: What the current debate on ‘revdi culture’ tells ...Prices start as low as Rs 2.5 per day
The decision however, did not prove costly for England as Wade departed soon after and the visitors sealed a win by eight runs.
© IE Online Media Services Pvt LtdFirst published on: 09-10-2022 at 08:27:56 pm Next Story
Many within BJP want to see its defeat in Gujarat: Kejriwal
Tags:Aus Vs EngExplained Climate |
0コメント